A Day in the life of a taxi driver – continued

18 03 2009

We have been chatting to our drivers and asked them for some stories that demonstrate what it means to be a taxi driver.  They have come up with some great ones – that make you glad you aren’t a taxi driver!  We’d love to hear your comments, so do let us know what you think.

Ian told us “I collected a lady from outside Tesco in Salisbury and she asked to go to the ‘centre.’ After some gentle questioning, she suggested we try Roman Road.  Having driven there she decided it wasn’t there and we drove around lots of other streets looking for the centre.  She didn’t know what centre she was looking for or where it was.  In the end, she asked to be taken back to Tesco and given a refund as she didn’t find her centre!”

Guerich told us, “I collected an elderly gentleman and shortly after getting into the car, he stopped breathing.  I managed to get him breathing again and drove straight to Salisbury Hospital.  I then stayed at the hospital until they confirmed that the gentleman was going to be ok.”

Simon told us, “I picked up an elderly lady in a wheelchair and she asked to go to Gold Hill in Shaftesbury (the hill that the Hovis ad was filmed on).  On arrival, I unloaded the wheelechair and got her into it and then pushed her down the hill to the house she said she was going to.  When there was no answer at the house, I asked who she was visiting and she said her mum!  It transpired she actually lived in Gillingham but had lived at this house as a girl.  I then oushed her back up Gold Hill and took her home.”

Guerich told us, “I dropped a lady off at the Milford Hall Hotel.  She had left a wallet in the car with £12000 of jewellery, credit cards and cash in it.  I went back and gave it to her and she rewarded me with £50 as a thank you for my honesty.”

Scott told us, “I collected a very drunk man with a strong Scottish accent, who I had difficulty understanding.  Along the Amesbury Road, I had to stop several times because he thought he was going to be ill.  Eventually he fell asleep on the pavement.  After trying to wake him for ages, I had to call an ambulance to pick him up, as he couldnt be left at the side of a main road in that state.”

David told us, “I have carried several famous people over the years, but in the last few weeks I have had a run on authors – Terry Pratchett and Faye Wheldon!”

Stacey (who works in the office) told us, “It was the first day of my holiday and my cat brought two frogs into the kitchen.  My first call was to the Value Cars office for someone to come round and get the frogs out of the house, but everyone was busy and the other office staff thought the whole situation was hillarious!  It took me two hours and much sweat and tears to eventually get them out!”

Philip told us, ” I had a customer who just likes spending time with Value Cars! On the 4th March at 00.31 I had the job sent to me to collect a customer from the White Hart Hotel and take them to the Kings Arms Hotel next door. I explained to the customer that we could go around the one-way system or he could, if he wished, just walk next door, but he insisted that he would get Value to take him. I did and he got out just a few metres from the start of his journey!”

Richard told us, “I collected a young girl on her own from Witherspoons in Salisbury and was asked to take her to Gillingham.  I had to stop several times for her to be ill on the way.  Eventually she passed out and I took her to the police station who called an ambulance for her.  It worries me that young girls on their own get into a state.”

There will be loads more stories over the coming weeks!

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 03 2009
wonker

Interesting blog, I’ll try and spread the word.

11 10 2009
Erica

Blog more, dammit! J/K It’s nice to read these short stories. Thanks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

